Accessibility Message

Access to Travel (ATT) has been designed with a view to making information accessible to all users, especially persons with disabilities who use adaptive technologies to receive and disseminate information. This Web site was designed to, and tested at, the following standards: W3C Priority level 3.

We encourage accessible Internet site development and maintenance. We invite your comments and suggestions for improvement to the accessibility of this site or you can contact us directly.

ATT has strived to maintain a balance between accessible design best practices that cater to persons with various disabilities. In trying to make the site accessible to all, you may encounter an issue that seems redundant, but in fact is necessary for a person with a different disability. For example, visitors using screen readers or text only browsers will encounter multiple links to the same section of the Web site on the same page. One of those links is in fact an icon, which is required to increase accessibility for users with a cognitive disability or hearing loss.

Access Keys

The following three Access Keys have been enabled mainly for use with Screen Readers and PDAs:

Access Key M
Brings you to the start of the top menu bar, which is common to all Government of Canada Web sites (tab once to go to the French Language button, tab twice to go to the "Contact Us" button, etc…).
Access Key 1
Skips the top menu bar and brings you to the menu that is specific to the page you are currently on.
Access Key 2
Skips all menus and takes you directly to the content of the current page.

Please note that the Access Keys work differently between browsers. As well, which keys are used depends on the platform. For example, Internet Explorer uses "ALT" M, since "ALT" is a Microsoft standard for Access Keys. Another platform may use a different key altogether.

How to Increase Text Size

ATT has incorporated functionality that allows you, the visitor, to increase the text size and overall layout of ATT to fit within an 800 X 600 screen size resolution. This option is found in the top right-hand corner of the content area. Once this option has been chosen, you will continue to navigate within the 800 X 600 screen resolution for the duration of your visit with ATT. Bookmarking a page while in the 800 X 600 screen resolution will not save your preference unless you see "incr=yes" in the address bar. Each new visit to the site may require you to choose this option.

If you have chosen the How to Increase Text Size option, but still require the text size to become larger, you can consult the "View" menu, which is typically a part of most browsers and systems. In this menu, there is usually a "text size" option that can be used to either increase or decrease the text.

Printer Friendly

Tired of not being able to print what you want without losing some of the information in the process? ATT has introduced a "Printer Friendly" link (found at the bottom of each page within the footer) which, in simplest terms, displays only the content along with ATT contact information as a header.

Removing the navigation elements of the page allows you to quickly obtain and print relevant information while still maintaining the highest degree of contrast between colours. When selecting "Printer Friendly" while viewing with the "Increase Text Size" option the larger text size will be printed without losing any of the information. This concept is called "What You See Is What Will Print" (WYSIWWP).

If you choose "Printer Friendly" you will be given the option of displaying the information in a new window (by clicking "OK"), or you can choose "Cancel" and the "Printer Friendly" page will be displayed in the current window. If you do choose cancel, you will be required to click on the "Back" button of your browser to return to the site.

Forms

ATT has taken great care to ensure that the forms are as accessible as possible and conform to W3C Priority Level 3 accessibility guidelines. As Web development languages do not allow Web developers to create a direct link between a form label (e.g. Name of City) and the text box, drop down menu, radio button or other form field (form control) that the user is required to complete, we have taken great care to ensure that labels are lined up side-by-side with the form fields that need to be completed. Also, some browsers will cause an error message or freezing of the application if a user leaves a form field blank. Therefore, to avoid this potential problem, ATT has included a dash as a default place-holding character in all text form fields.

External Links

Most Web sites have external links open in a separate browser window so that the user can keep the Web site page open while browsing an external site. However, opening separate browser windows decreases the accessibility of the site. Therefore, all external links from ATT open in the same browser window. To get back to ATT, use the "Back" key in your browser.

Date Modified:
2013-07-17

Un site accessible, voyez comment !

Voyage accessible a été conçu de façon à ce que l'information soit accessible à tous les utilisateurs, mais en particulier aux personnes ayant une déficience et qui ont recours à des technologies adaptées pour recevoir ou diffuser de l'information. Ce site conformément aux directives du niveau de priorité 3 du W3C.

Nous encourageons l'élaboration et le maintien de sites Internet accessibles. Nous vous invitions à faire des commentaires et des suggestions afin d'améliorer l'accessibilité de notre site ou vous pouvez communiquer avec nous directement.

Les concepteurs de Voyage accessible ont tenté d'harmoniser les meilleures pratiques en matière d'élaboration de sites accessibles afin de rendre ce site accessible à toutes les personnes ayant une déficience. Vous trouverez peut-être certaines informations redondantes, mais chacune est présentée de façon à être accessible aux personnes ayant différentes déficiences. Par exemple, les personnes utilisant un lecteur d'écran ou un navigateur en mode texte trouveront, sur la même page, de nombreux liens renvoyant à la même section de notre site Web. En fait, un de ces liens est une icône nécessaire afin d'améliorer l'accessibilité pour les utilisateurs ayant une déficience cognitive ou auditive.

Touches d'accès rapide

Les trois touches d'accès rapide suivantes seront principalement utiles aux utilisateurs d'un lecteur d'écran et d'un assistant électronique :

Touche d'accès M
amène le curseur au début de la barre de menus supérieure commune à tous les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Appuyez une fois sur « Tab » pour vous rendre au bouton « English », deux fois pour le bouton « Contactez-nous » et ainsi de suite.
Touche d'accès 1
saute la barre de menus supérieure et vous amène au menu particulier de la page affichée.
Touche d'accès 2
saute tous les menus et vous amène directement au contenu de la page affichée.

Veuillez prendre note que les touches d'accès rapide fonctionnent différemment d'un navigateur à l'autre. De même, les clés utilisées dépendent de la plate-forme. Par exemple, Internet Explorer utilise « Alt-M », puisque la touche « Alt » est une clé d'accès normalisée par Microsoft. Une autre plate-forme pourrait utiliser une toute autre clé.

Augmenter la taille du texte

Voyage accessible vous permet d'augmenter la taille du texte et l'ensemble de la mise en page pour les ajuster à un format d'écran de 800 x 600. Cette option est placée dans le coin supérieur droit de la zone de texte. Une fois cette option activée, vous continuerez à fonctionner en mode 800 x 600 pendant la durée de votre visite à Voyage accessible. Le fait de marquer une page d'un signet pendant que vous êtes en mode 800 x 600 ne sauvegardera pas votre préférence à moins que vous ne voyiez l'inscription « incr=yes » dans la barre d'adresse. Chaque nouvelle visite à notre site exigera peut-être que vous refassiez ce choix.

Si vous choisissez d'augmenter la taille du texte, mais qu'il n'est pas encore assez gros, vous pouvez avoir recours au menu « Affichage » qui fait normalement partie des navigateurs et des systèmes. Dans ce menu, vous trouverez l'option « Taille du texte » qui sert à augmenter ou réduire la taille du texte.

Version imprimable

Vous en avez assez de ne pouvoir imprimer ce que vous voulez sans en perdre une partie ? Vous trouverez au bas de chaque page (dans le pied de page), un lien « Version imprimable » qui affiche le contenu seul avec, comme en-tête, les coordonnées du bureau de Voyage accessible.

Le fait d'enlever les éléments de navigation de la page vous permet d'obtenir et d'imprimer rapidement l'information pertinente tout en maintenant un contraste maximum entre les couleurs. Quand vous choisissez la « Version imprimable » alors que la taille du texte a été augmentée, c'est un texte de taille équivalente qui sera imprimé sans perte d'information. Ce concept s'appelle « tel écran, tel imprimé »(TETI).

Si vous choisissez la « Version imprimable » vous aurez le choix d'afficher cette information dans une nouvelle fenêtre (en cliquant « OK ») ou de l'annuler et la page en « Version imprimable » s'affichera dans la fenêtre active. Si vous choisissez d'annuler, vous devrez cliquer sur le bouton « Retour » de votre navigateur pour retourner au site.

Formulaires

Les concepteurs de Voyage accessible ont pris soin de rendre les formulaires aussi accessibles que possible et de respecter les lignes directrices d'accessibilité du niveau de priorité 3 de W3C. Comme les langages de programmation ne permettent pas de créer un lien direct entre l'étiquette d'un formulaire (p. ex. nom de la ville) et la zone de texte, le menu déroulant, le bouton radio ou tout autre champ d'un formulaire (objet d'interaction) que l'utilisateur doit remplir, nous avons pris soin de bien aligner côte à côte les étiquettes et les champs du formulaire qui doivent être remplis. Aussi, certains navigateurs afficheront un message d'erreur ou figeront l'application si l'utilisateur laisse en blanc un champ du formulaire. Pour éviter ce problème, Voyage accessible place par défaut un tiret qui sert de caractère substitut dans toutes les zones de texte des formulaires.

Liens externes

La plupart des sites Web comportent des liens externes qui s'ouvrent dans une autre fenêtre du navigateur de façon à ce que l'utilisateur puisse garder sa page de départ ouverte pendant qu'il consulte un site externe. Toutefois, l'ouverture d'une fenêtre distincte diminue l'accessibilité du site. Tous les liens externes de Voyage accessible s'ouvrent donc dans la même fenêtre du navigateur. Pour retourner à Voyage accessible, utilisez le bouton « Retour » du navigateur.

Date de modification :
2013-07-17